What is the Scientific Council?

To accomplish our mission of alleviating the suffering caused by mental illness, we award NARSAD Grants that will lead to advances and breakthroughs in scientific research.

Our Scientific Council Leads the Way

  • Dr. Herb PardesFounding and current President, Herbert Pardes, M.D., Executive Vice Chairman of New York-Presbyterian Hospital
  • 173 - volunteer mental health leaders
    • Preeminent mental health researchers
    • 2 Nobel Prizewinners
    • 4 former directors of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
    • 4 recipients of the National Medal of Science
    • 13 members of the National Academy of Sciences
    • 26 Chairs of Psychiatry and Neuroscience Departments at leading colleges and universities around the world
    • 55 members of the National Academy of Medicine
  • Review hundreds of grant applications each year across all major areas of brain and behavior research
  • Recommend best ideas from scientists across communities and institutions

  • Mentor each selected NARSAD Young Investigator Grantee

  • Serve as an advisory group on policy and programs for the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation

Meet Our Scientific Council Members